Inspiring excellence in education

  • 05
  • Aug


One of Islington’s best known headteachers, who has been a positive role model for thousands of children, has been given a Lifetime Achievement Award.

Barrie O’Shea, Headteacher of Duncombe Primary School, was one of 12 winners in the first ever Islington Education Awards. The awards, organised by Islington Community of Schools and supported by Islington Council, celebrate ambition, innovation and excellence in teaching and learning in the borough.

Mr O’Shea, who has been a headteacher in Islington for almost 30 years, was presented with his award by actress Dame Sian Phillips at a special ceremony at LSO St Luke’s.

She told guests he had “influenced the lives of thousands of children” and “works tirelessly for school’s children, parents and staff and has also always been an advocate for disadvantaged children in Islington.”

The winners

Headteacher of the Year
Abi Misselbrook-Lovejoy from Newington Green/Rotherfield Primary Schools

Premises Staff of the Year
Patrick Seeburn from City of Islington Academy Islington

Senior Leader of the Year
Sarah Gill from Hugh Myddelton Primary School

Classroom Support of the Year – Primary
Sharon Turney from Ashmount Primary School

Classroom Support of the Year – Secondary
Noreen Akhtar from Holloway School

Governing Body of the Year
Moreland/St Luke’s Primary Schools

Bright Start Early Years Educator of the Year
Dilek Kavak from Hornsey Lane Estate Community Nursery

Administrator of the Year
Nimira Lalji from The New North Academy

Teacher of the Year – Primary
Julia Marriott from Yerbury Primary School

Teacher of the Year – Secondary
Sonali Patel from Holloway School

Special School Educator of the Year
Elena Burguete Vidal from The Courtyard – St Mary Magdalene Academy

Product of Islington Award
Karen Tumbridge from Islington Futures Federation

Lifetime Achievement Award
Barrie O’Shea from Duncombe Primary School

Latest Discover Islington blog
Back to Discover Islington blog